Facing Northeast - Sponsored by MacKay Real Estate, this camera is located on the roof of the Railtown Condominiums on Harbourside Drive.
Settled by the Acadians in the mid-1700s and later by the New England Planters, Wolfville was originally called Mud Creek after the town’s muddy harbour. In 1830 the town’s name was changed to Wolfville after the prominent DeWolfe family who had chosen the town as their home. The Town of Wolfville was later incorporated in 1893. Situated at the mouth of the Cornwallis River in the Minas Basin, Wolfville’s small harbour once was a hub of activity with fishing, shipbuilding, a wide range of trade and even a daily ferry service, most recently provided by the “HV Kipawo” which traveled a route from Kingsport, Parrsboro and Wolfville in accordance with the tides until it was commissioned by the Navy in WWII. In 1992 the harbour wharf underwent reconstruction and Harbourside Park was opened in 1993, in time for Wolfville’s Centennial.
Sponsored by MacKay Real Estate, this camera is located on the roof of the Railtown Condominiums on Harbourside Drive. Facing northeast, it looks out over the picturesque Wolfville Harbourside Park and the Wolfville dykeland toward Grand Pré. We hope you enjoy watching the gentle ebb and flow of the World’s Highest Tides at Wolfville Harbour, the world’s smallest registered harbour.
Mackay Real Estate has been providing quality real estate and property management services in Wolfville and the Annapolis Valley since 1971. Call us at 902-542-5781 or drop into our office at 382 Main Street in Wolfville.